Hi,

I'm totally new to Asian dramas and got interested in non-traditional romances, but unfortunately most I've tried seem to not be what I'm looking for.
It would be great if someone could help me out. Thanks :)

I'm looking for romances featuring non-traditional gender roles, where the female lead is not submissive to the male and I guess that this is probably most likely to be found in Noona romances.

However, most I've tried seem to not be too different to standard romances, other than dealing with an age gap and difficulties that come with it.
When it came down to it, the leads still behaved very similar as in traditional romances and the female was treated more like a younger girl by her lover.

Basically I'm looking for more of the following:

Female lead: independent, confident woman who doesn't need a man to be "saved" and most importantly: doesn't lose her independence and decisiveness to the male when the romance develops.

It's about the balance between the partners inside the relationship:
Traditionally it's very one-sided and mostly the male lead takes care of her (even if she was a strong, independent woman before the romance started, once the relationship is established, the male pretty much takes over), he's the more decisive one and provides emotional stability and (more or less) controls the relationship.
But I'd like to find dramas where it's either the other way around, or at least where both partners are equally strong or weak, but without the male dominating in any way. I'd like to see the female partner taking care of him too and not just the usual one-sidedness.

What I'm not looking for is the male treating her in "traditional" ways, as if he was "her boss", telling her what to do, or being the *only* partner giving emotional stability (if it's both ways, this is okay though).

I've seen lots and lots of romances (non k/j/c/t-drama) with dominant males and this is getting a bit boring. Give me some cool women please ;)