I'm trying to learn Japanese but I am an absolute beginner. I can understand some things without subs but some shows are harder than others. Does anyone have recommendations for shows that are good to watch without subs? Kimi Ni Todoke, for instance, I found easier to understand. Especially since Sawako speaks so slowly and people tend to speak slower to her.
Romantic comedies, school dramas and light detective dramas are easiest for me. The vocabulary becomes familiar very quickly. The first drama I watched without subs and actively listened to was Nakuna, Hara-chan. I was surprised by how much I understood and it gave me confidence to keep trying and learning. xD

From this year/last year, Otenki Onee-san, Yakou Kanransha, Naru Youni Narusa, Dragon Seinendan, MONSTERS were all easy enough to understand. Kazoku Game was harder with all the fast dialogue, especially Kamiki. Hanzawa Naoki was impossible.

And watching variety is good for getting used to quickfire Japanese, since it's partially Japanese-subtitled anyway.

edit: Just realised my recommendations are a bit Kanjani-biased... Apologies.